“Surviving Homelessness” by Michelle Burcume

I may be homeless
but I have feelings too,
the things that you say
make me feel blue.
Try for one month
living my life,
See how it hurts
it cuts like a knife.
Not knowing where
your next meal will be
You want out of this life
you want to be free.
Try living one month
on food stamps alone,
Having no money
not even a phone.
Trying to survive
a cold winter night,
Trying to keep warm
it’s a terrible sight.
The warming centers
aren’t always there,
So we sleep on the
streets and people stare.
It hurts my feelings
living this way,
One day it’ll be over,
a house where I’ll stay.
Helping others the
way I was,
Not cause I have to,
Just because.
Because I’ve been there,
unlike some of you,
Live my live once,
see somethingnew.
Fly a sign for
money & Gear
sleep on the streets
living in fear.
Fear of not making
it through a cold night,
Fear of being robbed
or killed on sight.
I know this all
sounds really bad,
But it happens to us,
and it makes me mad.
I wish I could make
it all go away,
I wish for one place
for all us to stay,
thanks be to God,
for Whitehorse & Chris,
If not for them,
it be hit or miss.
Between them and
churches around town,
I’m in a safe place
not feeling down.
The only time I
feel really down,
Is when I sleep on
the streets and
walk through town.
I walk the streets to
keep the chill gone,
People still laugh
they can’t see it’s wrong.
It’s wrong the way
they laugh at us,
Please help us out,
it’s no big fuss.
Give us a place
we can call home,
Forever help us,
no more to roam.
–April 4, 2011

Leave a Reply

